## Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

September 13, 2024

Ms. Chiquita Brooks-LaSure Administrator Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services 7500 Security Blvd. Baltimore, MD 21244

## Dear Administrator Brooks-LaSure:

We greatly appreciate that the CY 2025 Medicare Physician Fee Schedule includes a proposed new add-on code for complex inpatient infectious diseases (ID) physician services. We encourage you to maintain this new add-on code in the final rule and to work with relevant professional societies, such as the Infectious Diseases Society of America, to ensure that implementation of the new add-on code meets the goal of improving ID physician reimbursement and recruitment.

This add-on code is urgently needed, as medical students and residents often cite low reimbursement for ID specialists as a key barrier to entering this field. Nearly 80% of counties in the US do not have a single ID physician, and last year only half of ID physician training programs were filled. ID physicians are critical to support many types of life-saving care that carry a high risk of infection, including cancer chemotherapy, organ transplantation, surgeries and treatment of various conditions that involve immunosuppressing medicines. ID physicians are central in addressing public health threats including antimicrobial resistance, influenza, infections associated with opioid use, and other outbreaks and pandemics. Patients with serious infections who are treated by an ID physician have better outcomes, shorter hospital stays and lower healthcare costs.

Thank you for proposing this new add-on code which will boost ID physician payment, thereby making it possible for many more to enter this crucial field to improve patient safety and public health.

Sincerely,

Jefferson Van Drew Member of Congress Debbie Dingell

Member of Congress

ason Crow

Member of Congress

Diana DeGette

Member of Congress

aus Dollette

Eleanor Holmes Norton

Member of Congress

Jay/Obernolte

Member of Congress

Lori Trahan

Member of Congress

Mark Pocan

Member of Congress

Marcus J. Molinaro

Member of Congress

Donald G. Davis

Member of Congress

Frank J. Mrvån

Member of Congress